Natural: Redux.

I need to make an alteration to the post below.  I give the impression that evolution involves teleology or agency on the part of the individual. There is no active adaptation in evolution, no moment when an animal thinks ” if I did x I would be able to deal with y better”. The ones that happen to be better adapted survive, the rest don’t. There are no decisions, and no individual changes or adapts. The picture changes gradually over generations.

But I don’t think this changes the general idea behind my argument. The point stands that “natural” is a situationally defined construct. If anything, it makes it all the clearer that there can be no meaningful appeal to a biological “nature”.

About Coral Waters

"To me it suffices to wonder at these secrets and to attempt humbly to grasp with my mind a mere image of the lofty structure of all that there is." -Einstein
This entry was posted in Feminism, Philosophy.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

